AFA Education

AFA Chapter / State / National Teacher of the year

We have won the state level three times now in the last five years. POC - Jim Putnam (jim.putnam@sbcglobal.net) WP: 739-4754

AFA Visions Program

We support 20 classrooms in schools that are in lower income areas of the metro. We have 15 classrooms supported at U.S. Grant High School in OKC, 2 classrooms at Jim Thorpe Academy in Shawnee, 2 classrooms at Capitol Hill High School in OKC, and 1 classroom at Crooked Oak High School in OKC. POC - Jeffery W. James (jeffreywjames77@yahoo.com), CP: 249-6466

Oklahoma Air National Guard Starbase Program

The chapter makes an annual donation to provide teaching and classroom supplies (model rocket kits) to the Starbase kids education program run by the OKANG. POC - Rick Buschelman (rick.buschelman@tinker.af.mil) WP: 739-2053

Mentoring Program for Teachers

Through a program connection with the Oklahoma Aerospace Summit, our POC provides mentors to travel to teachers' classrooms when requested. POC - Col Rick Schwing, (Richard.Schwing@dla.mil) WP: 622-7505

Junior ROTC support

Our POC, Dean Jackson (dean1.jackson@yahoo.com) WP: 923-1714 coordinates with the local high school JROTC units to get presenters to attend their awards ceremonies. We are now exploring with one JROTC unit at Carl Albert High School in Midwest City, the change to integrate them into getting private aircraft rides through the Experimental Aircraft Association's Young Eagles program. POC for the Young Eagles is Jim Putnam.

Cyber Patriot program

Through our POC Dave Wagie (Dave_Wagie@odoc.state.ok.us) WP: 815-5258, the chapter supports the high schools and CAP and JROTC units which wish to participate in the computer network protection challenges of the Cyber Patriot program put on by the AFA at the national level. Training is provided by Rose State College's Dr. Stan Greil, (sgreil@rose.edu) WP: 408-2515, who arranges for computer training of the interested teams in the fall semester of each year. In our first year of competition, two teams we supported from Oklahoma went to the National Level competition.